Learn all about the ETIAS EU visa waiver, the travel permit that you must process to enter Europe.

Starting from 2021, all non-EU citizens that don’t need a Schengen visa will have to apply for this permit.

Currently, there are 62 countries outside of the European Union whose citizens can enter the EU Schengen Zone without needing a visa and can stay for a maximum of 90 days, with certain restrictions. They will be required to obtain an ETIAS travel authorization to enter the Schengen Area starting next year.

What is the ETIAS EU visa Waiver?

The EU Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) will only apply to citizens of countries that do not need a visa to access the Schengen area. ETIAS is regarded as a way to strengthen security in the EU, like its counterpart the ESTA did for the United States.

Through a statement, the European Union reported the new measure. This is the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), which will be implemented in 2021 in order to reinforce security measures.

This new permit is similar to the US Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA). It will be used to reduce procedures and exercise a detailed security check on each applicant. This system will collect necessary data to determine if the visitor’s entry is safe for the countries that make up the Schengen area.

There are 26 countries among which are the most popular European destinations, such as Spain, France, Italy, Holland, Germany Belgium, Greece, and Switzerland, among others.

Why this new requirement to enter Europe?

The European Union expressed its objective that travel within its borders will be a safer experience, with the aim of reducing procedures and waiting periods, preventing irregular migration and assisting in the detection and reduction of crimes and terrorism, among others.

This way, it will be possible to know who crosses the European borders.

The ETIAS does not change free transit, but it will be a mandatory entry requirement, as the guidelines of this new program indicate.

What countries need to process the ETIAS?

Albania, Andorra, Antigua y Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Estados Unidos, Georgia, Granada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Islas Salomón, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macao, Macedonia, Malasia, Marshall Islands, Mauricio, México, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, San Cristabal and Nieves, Santa Lucia, San Vicente, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapur, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arad Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

To obtain this permission, it will be necessary to fill out an online application where you must include information such as name, domain, date of birth, contact information, among others. Its cost will be 7 euros for those over 18 years. Minors are exempt from payment.

If the request is rejected, the reason will be indicated and the applicant may appeal.

The application process and obtaining a response will be almost immediate. If an additional review is required, the process will take from 96 hours to 2 weeks.

Once approved, it will be valid for 3 years but it will be canceled if the applicant’s passport expires, the first thing that happens.

What do you think of the new measure? Take advantage now that you do not need a permit to enter Europe and travel!

Remember that if you have any questions about travel in the European Union or any travel-related information, you can always contact me through my Instagram.

[insta-gallery id=”2″]

Categories: Travel advice

Fran Opazo

Journalist specialized in Digital Communication with a diploma in History. I create content for different brands, I am a Speaker (Marketing and Tourism), and I write for the Official Promotion of Chile (SERNATUR) for the local and foreign market, Chile Travel and Chile Es Tuyo. If you need my professional services, do not hesitate to send an email to lavidanomade@gmail.com. Let's see each other on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter.